Daily Archives: September 6, 2009

Literacy Autobiography

Ripping open my little blue book to see the stamp I received for writing.

Is it my favorite little mouse?

No.

Today is the boring star, maybe tomorrow I will think of new designs to write the letter K.

Think think think…

Playing pretend school with my little sister.

Will she realize that I do not know the word?

No.

She is not old enough but it will not be long before she catches up.

Think think think…

Mom is yelling at me about my reading.

Don’t you know how to pronounce the word?

No.

Go ask your sister to help you.

Think think think…

Seventh grade changed it all; Mrs. Taylor took the time to care and helped me through my obstacles.

Did you never learn the parts of speech?

No.

Come by my room for extra help.

Think think think…

From Middle School to High School, I was a grade level ahead and knew everything there was to know.

Do you need any help from me?

Yes.

Let me show you a strategy that I learned.

Think think think…

Senior year of English could not have come soon enough.

Has anybody taken a nontraditional English class?

No.

Mrs. Pillsbury gave me my first experience, writing was not the main aspect of the class, and experience taught us all.

Think think think…

College writing was all the same, read, write, grade.

Did you enjoy the book?

No.

I do not care about the writer’s purpose; it does not pertain to me.

Think think think…

Then I started my education major course load.

Did you enjoy the assignment?

Yes.

Does it relate to you on personal level?

Yes.

Think think think…

Only after three years of college education, one year of my major coursework, I have started to see enjoyment in my writing.

Do you want to be a teacher?

Yes.

And I will continue to think think think…

5 Comments

Filed under Teaching Reading and Language Arts in the Elementary School